565 NW Holly Street, Issaquah, WA 98027
(425) 837-7000

Superintendent announces he will be retiring from the Issaquah School District June 30, 2013

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Dr. Steve Rasmussen announced today that he will be retiring from the Issaquah School District at the end of the school year, capping 40 years in Washington state public education and 24 years as a superintendent. 

“I am proud of everything our students and staff have accomplished during my time here, and I know that the initiatives we have in place now will carry this district into the future with great success,” Rasmussen said.   “I am leaving the district with an outstanding cabinet and principal/administrative  team, an outstanding and effective teaching staff, sound academic plans for the future, and solid financial footings for the future having passed a four-year levy in 2010 and an eight-year bond issue in April 2012 to continue providing the best educational facilities and buildings on into the future.” 

Since coming to Issaquah from the Franklin Pierce School District in 2007, Dr. Rasmussen and his administration have focused on achievement for students in the areas of academics, citizenship, technology, personal awareness and expression, and life management. 

Dr. Rasmussen’s work has been recognized at the state and national level.  From 2000-2001 he served as Washington Association of School Administrators State President.  The following year he was selected the 2002 Washington State Superintendent of the Year and went on to be one of four finalists for the national honor.  Dr. Rasmussen served on the Executive Council of the American Association of School Administrators from 2004-2008 (one of 14 Superintendents from across the USA), as National President of the Horace Mann League of the USA in 2009, and has served as Chairman of the Voluntary Employee Benefits Association (VEBA Trust) for the past eight years.  Dr. Rasmussen has indicated that although he is leaving the superintendency, he fully intends to remain an active advocate for public education.

“Dr. Rasmussen is leaving the legacy of a skilled and passionate teaching force, outstanding principal leadership at each building, and a strong administrative team,” said School Board President Brian Deagle. “Our students are in good hands.”

The school board will begin the process to replace Dr. Rasmussen in early 2013.

About this websiteReport a problemThe Issaquah School District provides equal opportunity in its programs, activities, and employment.