News Releases

ISD Board recognized as 'Board of Distinction'

Posted on November 19, 2021
Graphic: ISD Board named as 2021 'Board of Distinction' by WSSDA
The Issaquah School Board has been recognized by the Washington State School Directors Association (WSSDA) as a 2021 Board of Distinction. The ISD School Board was among the first to be named a Board of Distinction, and has received this award for 13 consecutive years – every year since the award program began. Additionally, the Issaquah School Board was recognized as a School Board of the Year by WSSDA in both 2015 and 2017. 
“Our Board members are incredibly hard-working, and I have nothing but tremendous gratitude for them. The real power of the Board exists in its collaboration,” Superintendent Ron Thiele said. “I believe that Issaquah is the only district to have received the Board of Distinction recognition for so many years running. I’d like to offer my thanks and congratulations to our Board members on behalf of the students, families and community they represent.” 
The program selects boards that “show a clear link between their leadership in applying the Washington School Board Standards and closing gaps that impact student success.” The awards are announced each year during the WSSDA annual conference, which is happening this week in Bellevue.  
The Issaquah School Board is comprised of Board President and District 5 Representative Suzanne Weaver, District 1 Representative Anne Moore, District 2 Representative Marnie Maraldo, Legislative Representative and District 3 Representative Harlan Gallinger, and District 4 Representative Sydne Mullings. Learn more about the board here.