Have a great school snapshot?

Contact Lesha Engels about posting it to this page.

Cascade Ridge’s Sarah Parker Selected to 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

Cascade Ridge’s Sarah Parker Selected to 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

Posted by Elizabeth Egan on 16 June, 2017

Cascade Ridge is so proud of Coyote Sarah Parker! She was nominated by Safety Patrol advisor, Paula Parks, to possibly be named as one of the top 10 patrollers in the state of Washington. Sarah was selected and was inducted into the AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. Her accomplishments were celebrated at an awards ceremony in May at Safeco Field before a Seattle Mariners game. Cascade Ridge has a team of about 47 patrollers who all work hard for the safety of our students every morning and afternoon. Sarah stood out from this amazing group because of her great leadership skills, enthusiasm, commitment to patrol, and keen eye for ways we could improve on safety. There are about 100 students nominated throughout Washington State and it an honor for her to be selected as one of the 10.  Congratulations Sarah on a job well done!

AAA Press Release:

10 Elementary Students Selected to the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame

It takes commitment and dedication to be a AAA School Safety Patroller.  For some elementary students, the Patrol is their first taste of responsibility and their first time to serve in a leadership role.  Each year, AAA Washington recognizes 10 School Safety Patrollers who have shown selfless service, leadership and the dedication to brave all types of weather to protect the safety of fellow students who are heading to and from school.

For going above and beyond the call, these 10 outstanding patrollers in Washington State to be inducted into the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.  The 10 School Patrollers will be recognized at an evening awards ceremony held before a Seattle Mariners game at Safeco Field on Saturday, May 20.

As a long standing tradition, AAA Washington and a panel of judges from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, the Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission select top patrollers from schools across Washington each year and honor their accomplishments through induction in the AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Patrollers are evaluated and judged on their commitment to traffic safety, citizenship, leadership skills, and contributions to school safety patrol programs. Nominations require input from both the patroller and their advisor, including responses to a series of essay questions.

2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame Inductees:
Peter Fleisher, Frantz Coe Elementary, Seattle
Shane Haslett, Logan Elementary, Spokane
Ally McCarty, Poulsbo Elementary, Poulsbo
Journey Mohn, Columbia Valley Elementary, Vancouver
Maddison Morgan, Olympic Elementary, Longview
Sarah Parker, Cascade Ridge Elementary, Sammamish
Ashleigh Swartz, Ritzville Grade School, Ritzville
Britta Thomas, Highland Terrace Elementary, Shoreline
Carly VanGiesen, Broad View Elementary, Oak Harbor
Ashlyn Van Gorkom, Horace Mann Elementary, Redmond

AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year:
Irma Guerrero-Kusmirek, Tukwila Elementary, Tukwila

Irma Guerrero-Kusmirek from Tukwila Elementary will be recognized as the 2017 AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor of the Year. The AAA School Safety Patrol Advisor is critical to the success of their school’s Safety Patrol Program and this award recognizes the Safety Patrol Advisor for their years of dedicated service to the children, the school and the community. Guerrero-Kusmirk’s recognition is part of the annual AAA School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame celebration.   

AAA created the School Safety Patrol more than 90 years ago. The Patrol has been credited with being a major contributor to the substantial reduction in traffic related fatalities of school age children.