Have a great school snapshot?

Contact Lesha Engels about posting it to this page.

ISD Board of Distinction

Issaquah School Board Earns 12th Consecutive Board of Distinction Award

Posted by Devin Felix on 20 November, 2020
The Issaquah School Board has been recognized by the Washington State School Directors Association (WSSDA) as a 2020 Board of Distinction. The ISD School Board was among the first to be named a Board of Distinction and has received this merit for 12 consecutive years – every year since the award program began. Additionally, the Issaquah School Board was named School Board of the Year by WSSDA in both 2015 and 2017.

“I’m delighted but not surprised to learn that our board has been recognized again as a Board of Distinction,” said ISD Superintendent Ron Thiele. “They are very deserving of this award. They have always put in countless hours of work to serve the students of our community, and the time and energy required of them has only grown as they confront the challenges facing the district during this pandemic.”

The award was announced Thursday, November 19, during the WSSDA annual conference. The Issaquah School Board is comprised of Board President and District 2 Representative Marnie Maraldo, District 1 Representative Anne Moore, Legislative Representative and District 3 Representative Harlan Gallinger, District 4 Representative Sydne Mullings, and District 5 Representative Suzanne Weaver. Learn more about the board here.