Have a great school snapshot?

Contact Lesha Engels about posting it to this page.

Issaquah School Board Recognized as a Board of Distinction

Issaquah School Board Recognized as a Board of Distinction

Posted by Elizabeth Egan on 3 November, 2016

The Issaquah School Board—Lisa Callan, Harlan Gallinger, Marnie Maraldo, Anne Moore, and Suzanne Weaver—has been named a Board of Distinction by the Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA). Only 23 other school boards across the state earned the honor.

WSSDA’s Boards of Distinction awards honor school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board Standards. The standards, developed and adopted by WSSDA in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement, and help close the opportunity gap.

Award applicants submit an essay and supporting evidence to demonstrate how they are putting the standards into practice. This year, applicants addressed the following:

  • Being accountable and open to the public and seeking divergent perspectives in its decision making.
  • Adopting a collaboratively developed district plan focused on learning and achievement.
  • Employing and supporting quality teachers, administrators and other staff, and providing for professional development.

The boards will be honored November 17 during the 2016 WSSDA Annual Conference in Spokane.